Tagged: review

SPOTLIGHT: Sorority Noise



Sorority Noise are a band from Hartford, Connecticut consisting of;

Cameron Boucher – guitar/vocals

Ryan McKenna – bass/vocals

Adam Ackerman – guitar/vocals

Charlie Singer- drums

Vocalist/Guitarist Cameron’s lyrics focus on his experience with addiction and depression, which is strangely what attracted me to them in the first place. There’s something inviting about hearing someone sing about their struggles, maybe it’s because it’s easy to relate to. Their most recent album ‘Joy, Departed’ is brilliant, I felt so at ease and happy listening to it.

I’m so excited for their EP ‘It Kindly Stopped For Me’ which is released April 22nd!


For fans of: The Wonder Years

Highlights: Using and When I See You (from Joy, Departed)



Elvis Presley Top 10

The King of Rock n Roll, The King,just a few words used to describe Elvis Presley. He is the best selling solo artist of all time, with estimated record sales of around 600 million records worldwide.

I’m a fan girl, so I thought I’d list my top 10 songs by The King himself.


10. Love Letters from the 1971 album ‘Love Letters from Elvis’



9. Moody Blue from the 1977 album ‘Moody Blue’




8. It’s Easy For You from the 1977 album ‘Moody Blue’



7. There’s Always Me from the album ‘Something for Everybody’



6. If You Talk In Your Sleep from the 1975 album ‘Promised Land’



5. Are You Sincere from the 1973 album ‘Raised On Rock, For Ol’ Times Sake’



4. Take Good Care Of Her from the 1974 album ‘Good Times’



3. And I love You so from the 1975 album ‘Today’


2. Are You Lonesome Tonight? from the Album Are You Lonesome Tonight



1. Always On My Mind from the album Burning Love




By Lindsey Thompson

REVIEW – BABYMETAL – Metal Resistance


BABYMETAL are a group of Japanese school girls who burst onto the scene internationally a few years ago with the release of their first album (self titled). Their interesting blend of fast, crunching metal music with ‘idol’ style vocals (very clean polished Japanese language vocals seemingly exclusively performed by young girls) polarized opinion wildly, although their popularity has soared (just recently headlining the prestigious Wembley arena) many (including myself) still question whether their wild stage productions, choreographed dance routines and polished image where all just evidence that this is simply style over substance. Would their second release ‘Metal Resistance’ silence the critics?

Well I’ll start with my only real criticism, Listening to this from start to finish can prove to be something of an endurance test. Clocking in at 54 mins the blend of lighting fast very technical metal with lyrics 99% of people reading this won’t understand will prove testing. As brilliantly played and sang as this album is it is much like the musical equivalent of eating too many sweets by the time you reach it’s climax.

That said it is still well worth persevering with. Opening promisingly with the relentless title track (featuring members of Dragonforce) Metal Resistance very much starts as it means to go on. Second track and first single KARATE is an absolute beast of a track fitting of the arenas BABYMETAL now find themselves playing as well as providing the first of many hooks that will nestle into your brain and won’t leave for a good while. Although an uncompromisingly heavy effort it isn’t without it’s ‘slower’ moments, tracks such as Amore, From Dusk Till Dawn and No Rain No Rainbow provide slightly more “easier on the ears” breaks from the madness that precedes and follows them leading up to the suprising English Closer  The One. Although not perfect this album certainly will silence a good portion of their critics and provides a glimpse into what is sure to be a very bright future for this bizarrely brilliant band.


Highlights: KARATE, Awadama Fever, From Dusk Till Dawn

For Fans Of: Dragonforce, Metal played very Fast, Big Choruses and Absolute Insanity

Lukas Graham Self Titled Review



7 years by Lukas Graham is the best selling song so far this year, played repeatedly on radio stations across the world, it’s no wonder their self titled album has been highly anticipated. Lukas Graham are a pop-soul band from Denmark, who have been very successful across Europe with their 2012 self titled debut album, which went quadruple-platinum in Denmark.

Now they have released their 2016 self titled album to the world. They describe their sound as ‘ghetto pop’. “Mama Said” seems to sample the Jay-Z smash hit “Hard Knock Life” and if released as a single, will surely be a huge success for the lads. The whole album is about trying seeing the positive in negative situations and Lukas himself takes you through various parts in his life. “Strip No More” is about Lukas losing his virginity to a lap dancer at a lap dance club (that is surely ghetto?) The piano balled “better than yourself”  certainly pulls at your heart strings and adds a little something different to the whole theme of the album. The track “Funeral” is Lukas seeing the bright side of his own death, telling his friends to party for him when he passes, it is my personal favourite track on the album as it has a gospel vibe to it.

Fans of Maroon 5 earlier work (Songs About Jane) would love this album as it has a similar theme and sound, and Mika’s “Life In Cartoon Motion” album. If you’re looking for an album that will fill you with positive thoughts and you can relate to Lukas losing his virginity in a lap dancing club, then this album is for you! I think this album could be the key to their success here in the UK.

I give it a 7/10!

Lindsey Thompson